The Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires that all health insurance coverage for individuals and small groups includes certain treatments and procedures or “essential health benefits.”

The underlying idea is that the essential benefits package be equal to the coverage offered under a typical employer plan, with 10 general categories that include:

Ambulatory patient services
Emergency services
Maternity and newborn care
Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment
Prescription drugs
Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
Laboratory services
Preventive, wellness and chronic disease management
Pediatric services, including oral and vision care